It’s Novel: The Times Have Closed in Around Us…Sing out Barbados…the Merrymen

Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh or hello,

I had a good Barbadian upbringing. Although I am in the United States, I know who I am and who I come from. I’m a Barbajan from Bimshire, Barbadian from Barbados in the West Indies, in the Caribbean. I left the island as an 11 year old although I had Combermere marks. I read Hillary Beckles books to learn our history as time went on. I remembered all the songs I sang in school, and heard on TV…

Sing Out Barbados…

Welcome the Morning Sun
John Belly Mama
The Standpipe Song
Barbados ah Come From
Beautiful Barbados

The Merrymen…said just about everything…

One, two, three, Miss Hessie
Pam Pa Lam
Island in the Sun
Bimini
Sam Lord
Magic Isle
Hold ’em Joe
Archie
John Bouley
Old Nutseller
Barnabas
Bum Bum
Ring Ting Ting
Steel Donkey
Big Bamboo
Feeling Hot Hot Hot
Like a Bajan
Lost Banana
Matilda, Wings of a Dove
Congoline
Conrad

and more…

Knowing Who I am…

A Garden West of Eden
American Life, Lying American Dream
On Being the World, Not Ruling the World
Reading all the Readings, Singing the Whole Hymn Book 
Island of Many Faiths
The Anti-Christ Emerges at the End

Although I later became Muslim, I know that the nursery rhymes I grew up singing, the prayers I said in school, old wives tales and I heard here and there, and the hymn book I grew up singing also made me who I am.

– Mosquito One, Mosquito Two
– Four White Horses
– She Rocks in the Tree Top
– Church, Chapel, Toilet Pit
– If You Hit Me, I Hit you Back
– Ring around the Roses

Leave a comment